Medicaid Eligibility Income Chart by State – Updated June 2019

Last updated: June 03, 2019

 

  Income is not the only eligibility factor for Medicaid long term care. Each state also limits assets and may have level of care requirements. Click on the state name in the chart below to see full Medicaid eligibility criteria.

 

The table below shows Medicaid’s monthly income limits by state. Readers should be aware the maximum income limits change dependent on the marital status of the applicant, whether a spouse is also applying for Medicaid and the type of Medicaid for which they are applying. Nursing home Medicaid may have a different income limit than Medicaid services provided in the home and both of those may differ from the Aged, Blind and Disabled income limits.

Exceeding the income limits does not mean an individual cannot qualify for Medicaid. Most states have multiple pathways to Medicaid eligibility. Furthermore, many states allow the use of Miller Trusts or Qualified Income Trusts to help persons who cannot afford their care costs to become Medicaid eligible. There are also Medicaid planning professionals that employ other complicated techniques to help person become eligible. Finally, candidates can take advantage of spousal protection law that allow income (or assets) to be allocated to a non-applicant spouse.

What Happens to One’s Income When They Enter a Nursing Home
While persons residing in nursing homes paid for by Medicaid are permitted to have monthly incomes as high as $2,313 (in most states), those individuals are not permitted to keep that income. Instead all of their income except for a personal needs allowance (which ranges for $30 – $150 / month), must go towards paying for their cost of care. In cases, their income goes directly to the nursing home in which they are residing. Often times, the nursing home works directly with Social Security so the income they would have otherwise received goes straight to the nursing home.

What Happens to One’s Income When They Qualify for a Medicaid HCBS Waiver
When persons receive Medicaid services at home or “in the community” meaning not in a nursing home, they still have expenses that must be paid. Rent, mortgages, food and utilities are all expenses that go away when one is in a nursing home but persist when one receives Medicaid at home. Therefore, Medicaid beneficiaries that receive assistance through a Medicaid HCBS waiver are permitted to keep their monthly income to pay those expenses.

 

 A free, non-binding Medicaid eligibility test in available here. This test takes approximately 3 minutes to complete.

 

 

Medicaid Eligibility Income Chart – 2019
State Type of Medicaid Single Married (both spouses applying) Married (one spouse applying)
Alabama Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (Each spouse is allowed up to $2,313 / month) $2,313 / month for applicant
Alabama Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (Each spouse is allowed up to $2,313 / month) $2,313 / month for applicant
Alabama Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $791 / month $1,177 / month $791 / month
Alaska Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (Each spouse is allowed up to $2,313 / month) $2,313 / month for applicant
Alaska Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (Each spouse is allowed up to $2,313 / month) $2,313 / month for applicant
Alaska Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $1,432 / month $2,121 / month $1,432 / month
Arizona Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (Each spouse can have up to $2,313 / month) $2,313 / month for applicant
Arizona Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (Each spouse can have up to $2,313 / month) $2,313 / month for applicant
Arizona Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $1,041 / month $1,409 / month $1,041 / month
Arkansas Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (each spouse is allowed up to $2,313) $2,313 / month for applicant
Arkansas Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (each spouse is allowed up to $2,313) $2,313 / month for applicant
Arkansas Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $771 / month $1,157 / month $771 / month
California Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid No income limit1 No income limit1 No income limit1
California Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $1,242 / month $1,682 / month $1,242 / month for applicant
California Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $1,242 / month $1,682 / month $1,242 / month for applicant
Colorado Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $2,313 / month $4,626 / month $2,313 / month for applicant
Colorado Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month $4,626 / month $2,313 / month for applicant
Colorado Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $771 / month $1,157 / month $771 / month
Connecticut Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid Income must be less than the cost of nursing home Income must be less than the cost of nursing home Income must be less than the cost of nursing home
Connecticut Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (Each spouse is allowed up to $2,313 / month) $2,313 / month for applicant
Connecticut Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $972.49 / month in SW CT & $862.38 in N, E, and W CT $1,483.09 / month in SW CT & $1,374.41 in N, E, and W CT $972.49 / month in SW CT & $862.38 in N, E, and W CT
Delaware Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $1,927.50 / month $2,892.50 / month $1,927.50 / month for applicant
Delaware Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $1,927.50 / month $2,892.50 / month $1,927.50 / month
Delaware Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $1,927.50 / month $2,892.50 / month $1,927.50 / month
Florida Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (Each spouse is allowed up to $2,313 / month) $2,313 / month for applicant
Florida Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (Each spouse is allowed up to $2,313 / month) $2,313 / month for applicant
Florida Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $891 / month $1,208 / month $891 / month
Georgia Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (Each spouse can have income up to $2,313 / month) $2,313 / month for applicant
Georgia Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (Each spouse can have income up to $2,313 / month) $2,313 / month for applicant
Georgia Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $771 / month $1,157 / month $771 / month
Hawaii Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid No limit, but one’s entire income except for $50 / month must go towards cost of care. No limit, but each spouse’s entire income except for $50 / month must go towards cost of care. No limit, but one’s entire income except for $50 / month must go towards cost of care.
Hawaii Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services If one lives at home $1,198 / month. Each spouse is considered separately. If living at home, each spouse can have up to $1,198 / month. If one lives at home $1,198 / month.
Hawaii Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $1,198 / month $1,622 / month $1,198 / month
Idaho Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (Each spouse is allowed up to $2,313) $2,313 / month for applicant
Idaho Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (Each spouse is allowed up to $2,313) $2,313 / month for applicant
Idaho Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $824 / month $1,177 / month $824 / month for the applicant
Illinois Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $1,041 / month $1,409 / month $1,041 / month for applicant
Illinois Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $1,041 / month $1,409 / month $1,041 / month for applicant
Illinois Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $1,041 / month $1,409 / month $1,041 / month
Indiana Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $2,313 / month Each spouse is allowed $2,313 / month $2,313 / month for applicant
Indiana Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month Each spouse is allowed $2,313 / month $2,313 / month for applicant
Indiana Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $1,041 / month $1,409 / month $1,041 / month
Iowa Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (each spouse is allowed up to $2,313 / month) $2,313 / month for applicant
Iowa Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (each spouse is allowed up to $2,313 / month) $2,313 / month for applicant
Iowa Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $771 / month $1,157 / month $771 / month
Kansas Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid No limit, but income over $62 / month must be paid towards one’s cost of care. No limit, but income over $62 / month (per spouse) must be paid towards one’s cost of care. No limit, but income over $62 / month must be paid towards one’s cost of care.
Kansas Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services No limit, but income over $727 / month must be paid towards one’s cost of care. No limit, but  income over $727 / month (per spouse) must be paid towards one’s cost of care. No limit, but income over $727 / month must be paid towards one’s cost of care.
Kansas Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $475 / month2 $475 / month2 $475 / month2
Kentucky Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $2,313 / month $4,626 / month $2,313 / month for applicant
Kentucky Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month $4,626 / month $2,313 / month for applicant
Kentucky Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $235 / month3 $291 / month3 $235 / month3
Louisiana Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $2,313 / month $4,626 / month $2,313 / month for applicant
Louisiana Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month $4,626 / month $2,313 / month for applicant
Louisiana Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $771 / month $1,157 / month $771 / month
Maine Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $2,313 / month Each spouse may have up to $2,313 / month $2,313 / month for applicant
Maine Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month Each spouse may have up to $2,313 / month $2,313 / month for applicant
Maine Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $1,041 / month $1,410 / month $1,041 / month for applicant
Maryland Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid Cannot exceed the cost of nursing home care Cannot exceed the cost of nursing home care Cannot exceed the cost of nursing home care
Maryland Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month Each spouse is allowed up to $2,313 / month $2,313 / month for applicant
Maryland Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $350 / month $392 / month $350 / month for applicant
Massachusetts Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $1,041 / month $1,409 / month $1,041 / month for applicant
Massachusetts Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month Each spouse is allowed up to $2,313 / month $2,313 / month for applicant
Massachusetts Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $1,041 / month $1,409 / month $1,041 / month
Michigan Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $2,313 / month Each spouse is allowed up to $2,313 / month $2,313 / month for applicant
Michigan Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month Each spouse is allowed up to $2,313 / month $2,313 / month for applicant
Michigan Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $1,041 / month $1,409 / month $1,041 / month
Minnesota Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $1,012 / month $1,372 / month $1,012 / month
Minnesota Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month $4,626 / month $2,313 / month for applicant
Minnesota Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $1,012 / month $1,372 / month $1,012 / month for applicant
Mississippi Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (Each spouse is allowed up to $2,313 / month) $2,313 / month for applicant
Mississippi Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (Each spouse is allowed up to $2,313 / month) $2,313 / month for applicant
Mississippi Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $771 / month $1,157 / month $771 / month
Missouri Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid All available income must be paid towards care. All available income must be paid towards care. All available income must be paid towards care.
Missouri Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $1,348 / month $2,696 / month $1,348 / month
Missouri Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $885 / month $1,198 / month $885 / month
Montana Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid Income must be equal or less than the cost of nursing home care Income must be equal or less than the cost of nursing home care Income must be equal or less than the cost of nursing home care
Montana Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $771 / month $1,542 / month (Each spouse is allowed up to $771 / month) $750 / month
Montana Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $771 / month $1,157 / month $750 / month
Nebraska Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $1,041 / month $1,409 / month $1,041 / month for applicant
Nebraska Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $1,041 / month $1,409 / month $1,041 / month for applicant
Nebraska Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $1,041 / month $1,409 / month $1,041 / month for applicant
Nevada Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (Each spouse is allowed up to $2,313 / month) $2,313 / month for applicant
Nevada Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (Each spouse is allowed up to $2,313 / month) $2,313 / month for applicant
Nevada Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $771 / month $1,157 / month $771 / month
New Hampshire Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (Each spouse is allowed up to $2,313) $2,313 / month for applicant
New Hampshire Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (Each spouse is allowed up to $2,313) $2,313 / month for applicant
New Hampshire Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $785 / month $1,158 / month $785 / month
New Jersey Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $2,313 / month $4,626 / month $2,313 / month for applicant
New Jersey Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month $4,626 / month $2,313 / month for applicant
New Jersey Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $1,041 / month $1,409 / month $1,041 / month
New Mexico Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (Each spouse is allowed up to $2,313) $2,313 / month for applicant
New Mexico Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (Each spouse is allowed up to $2,313) $2,313 / month for applicant
New Mexico Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $771 / month $1,157 / month $771 / month
New York Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $859 / month $1,267 / month $859 / month for applicant
New York Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $859 / month $1,267 / month $859 / month for applicant
New York Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $859 / month $1,267 / month $859 / month
North Carolina Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $1,041 / month $1,409 / month $1,041 / month for applicant
North Carolina Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $1,041 / month $1,409 / month $1,041 / month for applicant
North Carolina Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $1,041 / month $1,409 / month $1,041 / month
North Dakota Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid No set limit, applicant is allowed $65 for personal needs and all their remaining income goes towards their care. No set limit, couple is allowed $130 for personal needs and all remaining income goes towards their care. No set limit, applicant is allowed $65 for personal needs and all their remaining income goes towards their care.
North Dakota Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $864 / month $1,170 / month $864 / month for applicant
North Dakota Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $864 / month $1,170/ month $864 / month
Ohio Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $2,313 / month $4,626 / month $2,313 / month for applicant
Ohio Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month $4,626 / month $2,313 / month for applicant
Ohio Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $771 / month $1,057 / month $771 / month
Oklahoma Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $2,313 / month $4,626 / month $2,313 / month for applicant
Oklahoma Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month $4,626 / month $2,313 / month for applicant
Oklahoma Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $1,041 / month $1,409 / month $1,041 / month
Oregon Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $2,313 / month $4,626 / month $2,313 / month for applicant
Oregon Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month $4,626 / month $2,313 / month for applicant
Oregon Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $771 / month $1,157 / month $771 / month
Pennsylvania Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (Each spouse is allowed up to $2,313 / month) $2,313 / month for applicant
Pennsylvania Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (Each spouse is allowed up to $2,313 / month) $2,313 / month for applicant
Pennsylvania Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $793.10 / month $1,190.30 / month $793.10 / month
Rhode Island Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (Each applicant can have up to $2,313) $2,313 / month for applicant
Rhode Island Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (Each applicant can have up to $2,313) $2,313 / month for applicant
Rhode Island Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $1,041 / month $1,409 / month $1,041 / month
South Carolina Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $2,313 / month $4,626 / month $2,313 / month for applicant
South Carolina Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month $4,626 / month $2,313 / month for applicant
South Carolina Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $1,041 / month $1,409 / month $1,041 / month
South Dakota Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (Each spouse can have up to $2,313) $2,313 / month for applicant
South Dakota Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (Each spouse can have up to $2,313) $2,313 / month for applicant
South Dakota Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $771 / month $1,157 / month $771 / month
Tennessee Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (Each spouse is allowed up to $2,313 / month) $2,313 / month for applicant
Tennessee Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (Each spouse is allowed up to $2,313 / month) $2,313 / month for applicant
Tennessee Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $771 / month $1,157 / month $771 / month
Texas Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $2,313 / month $4,626 / month $2,313 / month for applicant
Texas Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month $4,626 / month $2,313 / month for applicant
Texas Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $771 / month $1,057 / month $771 / month
Utah Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid No income limit. One’s monthly income determines how much one must pay towards the cost of care. No income limit. Each spouse’s monthly income determines how much each spouse must pay towards the cost of care. No income limit. One’s monthly income determines how much one must pay towards the cost of care.
Utah Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services Aging Waiver ($1,041 / month) New Choices Waiver ($2,313 / month) Aging Waiver (Each spouse is allowed up to $1,041 / month) New Choices Waiver (Each spouse is allowed up to $2,313 / month) Aging Waiver ($1,041 / month for applicant) New Choices Waiver ($2,313 / month for applicant)
Utah Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $1,041 / month $1,372 / month $1,041 / month for the applicant
Vermont Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $2,313 / month $4,626 / month $2,313 / month for applicant
Vermont Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month $4,626 / month $2,313 / month for applicant
Vermont Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled (the higher number is for Chittenden County only) $1,066 / month

$1,158 / month

$1,066 / month

$1,158 / month

$1,066 / month

$1,158 / month

Virginia Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $2,313 / month $4,626 / month $2,313 / month for applicant
Virginia Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month $4,626 / month $2,313 / month for applicant
Virginia Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $832.66 / month $1,127.33 / month $832.66 / month
Washington Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (Each spouse may have up to $2,313 / month) $2,313 / month for applicant
Washington Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (Each spouse may have up to $2,313 / month) $2,313 / month for applicant
Washington Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $771 / month $1,157 / month $771 / month
Washington, DC Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $2,313 / month $4,626 (Each spouse is allowed up to $2,313) $2,313 / month for applicant
Washington, DC Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month $4,626 (Each spouse is allowed up to $2,313) $2,313/ month for applicant
Washington, DC Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $1,040.83 / month $1,409.17 / month $1,040.83 / month for applicant
West Virginia Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (Each spouse is allowed up to $2,313 / month) $2,313 / month for applicant
West Virginia Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (Each spouse is allowed up to $2,313 / month) $2,313 / month for applicant
West Virginia Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $771 / month $1,157 / month $771 / month
Wisconsin Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $2,313 / month $4,626 / month $2,313 / month for applicant
Wisconsin Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month $4,626 / month $2,313 / month for applicant
Wisconsin Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $597.78 /month + Actual Shelter up to $257.00 / month $903.38 / month + Actual Shelter up to $385.67 / month $597.78 /month + Actual Shelter up to $257.00 / month
Wyoming Institutional / Nursing Home Medicaid $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (Each spouse is allowed up to $2,313) $2,313 / month for applicant
Wyoming Medicaid Waivers / Home and Community Based Services $2,313 / month $4,626 / month (Each spouse is allowed up to $2,313) $2,313 / month for applicant
Wyoming Regular Medicaid / Aged Blind and Disabled $771 / month $1,157 / month $771 / month

1. In California, while there is no income limit, the nursing home resident is only permitted to keep $35 / month of their income.
2. Kansas seniors that receive SSI payments automatically qualify for Medicaid. This allows a single elderly person up to $771 / month and married couples up to $1,157 / month.
3. Kentucky seniors that receive SSI are automatically eligible for ABD Medicaid, therefore a single applicant can have income up to $771 / month, and a married couple, up to $1,157.

 

 

 

Determine Your Medicaid Eligibility

Get Help Qualifying for Medicaid